My 2022 Tax Season Freelance Tax Hacks

Kelli María Korducki
3 min readApr 1, 2022
Photo by StellrWeb on Unsplash

If literally any of your income is derived from self-employment, the expense sorting lead-up to your yearly CPA tête-à-tête* likely falls somewhere between “lost afternoon” and “waterboarding.” And, if you’re like me and tend to leave that sorting to the last minute, there’s a good chance you’re missing the boat on some perfectly claimable expenses that would spare you from parting with some of your hard-earned cash.

I’m not an accounting expert in any way, but I am someone who’s been around the freelance tax-filing block and learned a thing or two. So, here’s some advice from me, a high-functioning procrastinator:

  1. Take advantage of spending summaries. I’m lousy at saving receipts. This is bad. The good news is that my bank tracks my credit card spending by category of purchase: groceries, shopping, entertainment, and so forth. Yours probably does, too. This online banking feature makes it really easy to keep tabs on exactly how much you can claim towards professional expenses by allowing you to go through your spending records, month by month and for the whole calendar year, and single out anything that would defensibly qualify as a professional expense.

To further simplify things, I basically use the same credit card to pay for 99% of my day-to-day expenses, and then pay off the whole balance at the end of each month. Once I…

--

--

Kelli María Korducki

Writer, editor. This is where I post about ideas, strategies, and the joys of making an NYC-viable living as a self-employed creative.